Skip to content

Strange Coincidences and Events in my Life

June 9, 2007

I’m sitting here, staring sleepily at my screen when it suddenly occurred to me how strange some aspects of my life are. For example, I have one sibling; a younger sister. She’s about three years younger than me.

Her birthday is November 7th. My birthday is February 23rd. You wouldn’t think there are any connections, but there is a connection! It’s a very strange relation but a relation nonetheless. If you have doubts, feel free to confirm it on Wikipedia.

Here’s the coincidental connection:

February 23 is the 54th day of the year in the Gregorian calendar. There are 311 days remaining (312 in leap years).

November 7 is the 311th day of the year (312th in leap years) in the Gregorian calendar. There are 54 days remaining.

Strange? YES! We’re EXACTLY OPPOSITES in the calendar. Weird? Definitely. It’s things like this that make me wonder if fate exists. I hope it doesn’t exist but sometimes when stuff like the above stares straight at you, it makes you doubtful.

Another thing is I’m a Pisces according to the Western Zodiac. We’re characteristically gentle, kind, shy, caring, sensitive, artistic, daydreamers, etc.. Basically we’re probably the gentlest of the signs. Being the twelfth and last sign of the zodiac, we’re considered special because we represent human emotions or something like that. If that’s so, I’m a VERY poor example.

Here’s the word by word from Wikipedia:

“Individuals born under this sign are thought to be tolerant, dreamy, romantic, humorous, generous, emotional, receptive, affectionate, and have an honest character, but are also prone to exaggeration, fickleness, passiveness, hypersensitivity, and paranoia. Pisceans are said to like mystery and solitude to dream in. Pisces is said by some astrologers to possess the qualities of all the previous eleven Signs of the Zodiac. Hence, Pisces are said to be the ‘dustbin’ of the Zodiac. In terms of anatomy, Pisces is said to rule the feet, liver, and lymphatics.

Physically, individuals born under the sign of Pisces supposedly tend to have large albeit dainty feet, heavy-lidded and liquid eyes, a tall stature, and a broad physique.

Pisces is traditionally thought to be ruled by the planet Jupiter, but in more recent years many astrologers have labeled Neptune as the ruler or co-ruler of Pisces, attributing the dreaminess associated with the Sign to the planet‘s influence.

In mythology Pisces is often associated with Helen of Troy, from the legend of the Trojan War. Pisces is also associated with the Greco-Roman god Poseidon/Neptune and sometimes also the gods Zeus/Jupiter, Morpheus, and Thor and the goddess Tyche/Fortuna.

The symbol comes from the story of the Greek goddess Aphrodite and her son turning themselves into fish so they could escape the monster Typhon.”

That description is almost entirely false. Although I do like mystery and solitude in dream. I’m not sensitive, dreamy, receptive, affectionate, emotional, tolerant, humorous, generous or ANY of that actually. Although I do admit I possess qualities of practically all the other signs. Although the description doesn’t say it, Pisces are known to be artistic and imaginative. Those are two qualities I am proud to say I do possess. After all, I draw, GFX, and write stories.

And you know what’s funny? It says when referring to Pisces, people commonly associate it with Helen of Troy. My name Elena is derived from the Greek name Helen… Yes, that exact Helen. Helen of Troy.

Another coincidence. I’m also born in the year of the Rabbit (Chinese Zodiac) which is equal to the Pisces of the Western Zodiac. Is this thing ‘Fate’ trying to toy with me? If so, it’s pretty funny. I’m a Fire Rabbit though. Pisces is a water sign. Weird.

There are about a million other things I can probably think of, but right now, I can’t remember. I’m too sleepy. I don’t even know why I’m blogging at 8:47AM. I haven’t even slept yet! Yeah, my sleeping schedule is out of whack.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    June 14, 2007 2:16 pm

    Hey, I recently added a news widget from http://www.widgetmate.com to my blog. It shows the latest news, and just took a copy and paste to implement. Might interest you too.

Leave a Reply

