Skip to content

Weluean Tales (New Story In The Bin)

December 11, 2007

I was laying in bed awake last night at around 12:30AM, humming the song “At the Beginning” from Disney’s Anastasia when I got up to the line, “…the world stops turning” and inspiration struck me like a hard and loud slap across my face. I sat up, and I immediately flicked on the lights, pulled out a notebook and found a pen. I started writing as fast as I could while the ideas were still fresh in my mind.

After I had most of my ideas written down, I put away the book and pen, turned off the lights, and laid back down in bed, pulling the covers up to my chin. I twisted and turned for a long minute before deciding I wasn’t going to fall asleep anytime soon because more ideas were flowing into my brain.

I shoved the covers off and turned on my computer. I immediately started typing away.

Basically, the setting of my new story is going to take place on a planet that has stopped turning.  Obviously, the planet will be split into two halves; one side will be forever bathed under moonlight and the other under bright sunlight.  I had decided that most people inhabiting the planet are born with magical potential. As a result, they grow up to be either mages, healers, scholars, or something that’s related to their abilities. Still, even if most have magical potential, it doesn’t mean there aren’t any ‘ordinary’ people.

Also, humans won’t be the only intelligent species inhabiting the planet. I’ve decided to incorporate the summons from Naruto into it like Gamabunta Oyabun, Kakashi’s Nin Dogs, and Tsunade’s slug. Akamaru too. In the Original Story, I’ll just make up races. I have a feeling this story is going to be more detailed and a lot more work than all my previous stories combined. I hope my writing can keep it as good as I imagine it.

Anyway, I’ll go more into depth once the actually story is written some. I plan on making it both a Naruto fanfiction and an Original piece too with made up characters because it’s so much easier to.  Of course, there will be different story lines even if the setting is the same planet.

I’ve also come up with a reason why the planet has stopped turning.

A war swept across the planet approximately 570 years ago. Mages were mainly utilized to fight the war as well as magical weapons. The planet was already rich with magical energies of all kind. To add more to Weluean would only confuse the planet. When the war reached its climax, a large amount of magical energy was unleashed which almost reshaped the entire planet. The explosion of energies clashed with those that sustained the planet’s rotation balance and accidentally stopped the planet in its tracks. It was unplanned, but because of the sudden stop, the war ended because the focus turned to maintaining their home planet.

As for what started the war, the general public believe it to be a territory dispute over the ‘Eternal White Sands’. Currently, this desert lies between the Lunar and Solar Halves and remains unmarked territory by any of the kingdoms. It is almost like a symbol of what could have been if the war had not broken out. Of course, that wasn’t really the reason for the war, but I won’t go into details. Why spoil it?

…I still need a name for the war. ><;

Anyway, I don’t know how long it’ll take me to finalize all the details because I’m creating a whole new world. I need to create the map of the planet and everything. As well as their dress codes. I’ll probably end up putting up images of their clothing and accessories either on a person or not. I don’t know yet.

Please look forward to this! It’ll be a while before it gets turned into actual chapters and posted anywhere, but it’ll be great!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 11, 2007 3:56 pm

    “Basically, the setting of my new story is going to take place on a planet that has stopped turning. Obviously, the planet will be split into two halves; one side will be forever bathed under moonlight and the other under bright sunlight. I had decided that most people inhabiting the planet are born with magical potential. As a result, they grow up to be either mages, healers, scholars, or something that’s related to their abilities. Still, even if most have magical potential, it doesn’t mean there aren’t any ‘ordinary’ people.”

    This condition, when one side of a celestial body always faces another celestial body, is called “tidal locking”. It’s a hugely popular science fiction set piece with even Star Trek using it like 4-5 times.

    Just, you know, so you could look it up and get the science part right 🙂

Leave a Reply

